Skip to main content

Staff Directory: Management

Sandra Lewis

Sandra Lewis

Sandra Lewis

Head Librarian, Technical Services, Main Campus

Sandy has spent most of her career in academic libraries where she enjoyed teaching students, faculty and staff to use library resources. She has been a science & engineering librarian at the University of California—Santa Barbara, a genealogy & history librarian at Fairfax County Libraries in Virginia and most recently, a technical Information specialist at OSHA in Washington, D.C. where she served as a medical librarian.

Her current responsibilities include collection management, and management of electronic resources..

She holds an MLS in Library Science from the University of Missouri and a B.A. in History & Government from Columbia College.    

She joined the Palmer team in April 2016.

Edward Murphy

Edward Murphy

Edward Murphy

Branch Manager Librarian, Florida Campus 

Ed oversees the library operations for Palmer’s Florida campus.  In addition to providing research assistance and library instruction for the students, staff and faculty of PCC-F, the Branch Manager Librarian also serves on numerous steering and environmental committees for the Palmer - Florida campus.

Ed received his B.A. in Literature in 1996, and his Masters of Library and Information Science in 1999 from the University of South Florida in Tampa, Florida.

His publication credits and research interests are in the areas of new and emerging library technologies and with virtual/extension services for libraries.

Ed joined Palmer in April 2015.

Rosemary Riess

Rosemary Riess

Rosemary Riess

Head Librarian, Special Collections & Archives

Rosemary's responsibilities include managing the day-to-day operations of the Special Collections department, collection management of Special Collections and Archives, preservation and conservation of materials, outreach and programming, managing reference requests, exhibit planning, and the digitization of major Palmer resources. Her accomplishments since being at Palmer include coordinating an archival move of fragile materials to a climate controlled environment, implementing a digitization program, curating the 100th Anniversary Homecoming exhibit, maintaining a weekly blog and redesigning the Special Collections and Archives website.

Rosemary earned her B.A. in American Studies from the University of Hull, England. She graduated in May 2012 with a Master’s Degree in Library and Information Science with a focus on archives management from the University of Iowa.

She joined Palmer in January of 2013 and served as Library Assistant and Technical Library Assistant in Special Collections and Archives. She has been overseeing the daily operations of the department since October 2013 and was appointed Head Librarian of Special Collections in June 2015. 

Denise Ulett

Denise Ulett

Denise Ulett

Branch Manager Librarian, West Campus

Denise Ulett is the Branch Manager Librarian for the Palmer West Campus. She has spent most of her career in special collections in public libraries, most recently as the Information Resource Manager over Consumer Health and Government Documents for the St. Charles City-County Library District, a suburban library system outside St. Louis, MO.  She has extensive experience in staff training and community liaison work and was the recipient of the 2011 Public Library/Public Health Partnership Award from the National Library of Medicine.  

Her current responsibilities include reference and instruction, publicity and marketing, collection management, and administrative duties for the PCCW library. 

Denise holds an MLS in Library Science and a B.A. in English from the University of Missouri, Columbia. She also earned her Yoga Teacher Certification in 2012 from the East-West School of Natural Healing.

She joined the Palmer team in January 2017.