Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following databases specialize in the higher levels of evidence: systematic reviews and critically-appraised topics and articles.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection containing different types of evidence-based medicine databases. Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Clinical Answers, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Dynamed This link opens in a new window
Clinical reference tool primarily intended for point-of-care use. Contains clinically organized summaries for more than 3,200 conditions, pharmaceuticals, and related topics.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
A medical resource helping decision-makers to identify the best available evidence. Includes essential content from Users’ Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3e, The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis, and Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience. Also includes tools such as Education Guides, calculators and self-assessment quizzes.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window
The Physiotherapy Evidence Database offers randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. It includes quality ratings and is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Rehabilitation Reference Center is a clinical reference tool designed for use by rehabilitation clinicians, physical therapists, and occupational therapists at the point of care. Sections include diseases and conditions, drug information, patient education, exercise images, and practice resources.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) This link opens in a new window
A smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence. Content types include images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
PubMed Clinical Queries
View PubMed search results by Clinical Study Category: Therapy, Diagnosis, Etiology, Prognosis, and Clinical Prediction Guidelines
Evidence-based Practice Center Reports
Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) reports offer comprehensive, science-based information on common or costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies. Your search results cover complete titles of all evidence reports released by the EPCs, including reports for the Effective Health Care Program, the Technology Assessment Program, and the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force.
Healthcare Research Databases
These databases contain all types of evidence. Many of them have Advanced Search features which allow the user to search for specific types of evidence, such as controlled trials, cohort studies, etc.
PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, CINAHL provides indexing to over 3000 nursing, allied health and health sciences journals. The database indexes approximately 20 chiropractic journals.
ICL: Index to Chiropractic Literature This link opens in a new window
Covers 1985-present chiropractic journal literature. It includes several web pages linking free chiropractic research articles, electronic books and patient education handouts. Links to other important chiropractic web sites are also included.